Thrill City by Leigh Redhead: Review

Thrill CitySimone Kirsch. There’s a name to conjure with. It will come as no surprise to learn that she is an ex-stripper turned private investigator. What else could she be with a name like that? Simone is the ballsy, bolshy and very funny creation of Aussie writer Leigh Redhead, and Thrill City is the fourth in the Simone Kirsch series.

In this case I haven’t started reading a series at the beginning. I am almost ashamed to say I picked up this book for a fiver when my local bookshop had a surplus sale on. Sad for author Redhead, as a fiver won’t earn her much in the way of royalties and her author photo shows she has a cat to feed, but good for me as I was hooked from page one and will be buying and reading the other books now .

Thrill City is a roller coaster of a book. The action doesn’t stop; it’s almost too fast-paced as Simone gets into strife and out of it again in her search to find missing client writer Nick.  It’s a Girl’s Own Thriller, with laugh out loud moments (particularly from Chloe, Simone’s best friend, moaning about the state of her very pregnant body and how she’ll cope with sex afterwards).

For all the almost unbelievable action Simone is a believable and likeable heroine. She’s fallible, far from perfect. So far from perfect her relationship with copper Sean is in tatters by the end of the book.

Leigh Redhead’s Melbourne is gritty and real. I’m a Sydneysider and love visiting Melbourne; I have family there. As I read this book I kept squawking, “Ooh! I know that place!” with delight. I may be a little more wary wandering around St Kilda after dark now though.

This is a great book to take on holiday. It’s pure escapism. Lying on the beach in a place that’s too blissful and perfect for words? Drag yourself back to a bikies’ den in Broken Hill. Longhaul flight and the movies are boring? Be on the run with Simone, dodging bullets.

Mad, bad, and dangerous to know, I’m glad I’ve discovered Simone Kirsch.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

